Remember that New Years resolution you made?

It’s been said that new years resolution usually don’t last more through the third week of January. only a few amount of us actually stick to our resolutions; “University of Scranton research suggests that just 8% of people achieve their New Year’s goals.” For most of us, that static may seem unsurprising. Back in November 2013 I decided to living a healthier lifestyle. For me it wasn’t really about the weight. Sure I wanted to lose a few pounds but most importantly I wanted to permanently make more healthy decisions daily.

To make that dream a reality, I decided to start out my New Year’s resolution after Thanksgiving of last year. I was going to start on January 1st but I asked myself ” why wait when you can start now?” So from then on I made it a goal make more healthy decisions everyday. I made sure to make small simple goals each week. My first step was to reduce my sugar intake and I achieved that by eliminating drink soda completely and eating less sugary cereals. It was pretty hard for the first two weeks but then my body began to the adapt to the changes I made.

Fast forward to today. It’s been four months since I embarked on my healthy journey. I can proudly say I have no regrets! I only wish I had started my healthy eating joinery much earlier. If you are one of the millions of people that wrote down a New Years resolution but abandoned it, don’t fret there is still hope for you! After all, we are just in the third month of the year. There are three things that helped me accomplish my resolution and stay on track.
1. I Stopped procrastinating.
2. I Stopped giving excuses.
3: I Started out small, but thought big.

Procrastination is a silent dream killer. It’s slowly hinders you from becoming successful in life. So if you want to lose weight, saving money, quit smoking don’t put it off another day. The key is to start now! Don’t wait till next Monday, next month or even next year to begin your resolution. Time waits for no one.Trust me, when you look back three months from now, you will be glad to see you have lost that 15 pounds, bought that new car or started your business.Remember your future depends on what you do today.

In order to accomplish your resolutions or goals, you need to STOP giving excuses! Excuses don’t burn calories, give you a degree or make you a millionaire. You have to push yourself to achieve your goals. Nobody else will do it for you. Your success is your responsibility. Next time you want to give an excuse ask yourself “are my excuses worth more than my dreams?”

“Go big or go home!” I am sure most of you are familiar with that phrase. While we have been taught to do big thing it’s also important to note that it’s the little steps we take daily that takes us to the places we want to go. After all nothing happens overnight. You didn’t gain 30 pounds in one month so don’t expect to lose it all in one month. Slow and steady wins the race. It doesn’t matter how slow you are going as long as you keep moving forward. The baby steps you take today will help you achieve your resolutions.

“You never know what’s around the corner. It could be everything. Or it could be nothing. You keep putting one foot in front of the other, and then one day you look back and you’ve climbed a mountain.”- Tom Hiddleston. The fact that you made a resolution in January shows you recognized that you need to make some changes in your life which is a step in the right direction. However, it is not enough, it time for you to take action. Even if you start and fail it’s alright as long as you don’t give up. Make the most of this year!
>
>

Leave a Reply

